About us

National Healthcare Group Eye Institute
The National Healthcare Group Eye Institute (NHGEI) is based at Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH), and oversees the strategic development of eye services in TTSH and NHG.

All existing eye units and services of our hospitals have merged horizontally across the cluster and vertically integrated with primary and community units under one umbrella. Over time, NHG Eye Institute will evolve to allow medical cross-accreditation between inter-hospitals and clinics, continuing medical education, registrar training, quality and activity benchmarking and research activities across the continuum.

NHG Eye Institute will also work with various organisations such as Singapore Eye Research Institute, National University of Singapore, and clinical research organisations to undertake significant clinical research programmes of relevance to our patients. 

As a result of the vertical and horizontal integration, patients can now travel to the hospital nearest to their homes for any eye services. Such service offers convenience to patients, in line with our mission of providing comprehensive, accessible and seamless healthcare to add years of healthy life to the people of Singapore. 


8th International Ophthalmology Congress
We are pleased to announce that the 8th International Ophthalmology Congress (IOC) 2018 will be held at Max Atria, Singapore Expo from 5 – 6 October 2018. The theme of the congress is “Dilemmas in Ophthalmology”.

This congress is NHGEI’s banner event and will serve as an international platform for ophthalmologists to co-learn and network via a series of symposia covering both clinic and surgical realms. It will be unique in its format which aims to dissect key clinic dilemmas via panel discussions, case presentations and debates. We are expecting about 400-500 participants from Singapore as well as the Asia-Pacific region. Global key opinion leaders will form our speaking faculty to help clarify and demystify the increasing number of dilemmas and controversies in eye care. Our ultimate goal is to enable our audience to make the best choices for their patients.

IOC is also proud to host the inaugural PCVNet meeting on 4 October 2018. This closed door event is by invitation only. 

The official language of the Congress is in English. There will be no simultaneous translations.

Congress Mobile App
As we aim to move towards becoming an eco-friendly organisation, there will not be any printed copies of the programme booklet made available during the conference. All delegates and participants are required to download the NHGEI 8th IOC conference mobile app prior to the event, as there will be interactive sessions taking place throughout the conference such as Voting and Q&A sessions via the app.

   1. No smoking policy: Smoking is strictly prohibited in all meeting and exhibition areas.
   2. Photography and video recordings are strictly prohibited for all conference and workshop sessions. Permission should be sought from the organisers for any photography or videography of any exhibits.

CME/CNE/CPE Accreditation (for Local Delegates only)
The NHGEI 8th IOC is recognised by the Singapore Medical Council (SMC) as a Continuing Medical Education (CME) programme, by the Singapore Nursing Board (SNB) as a Continuing Nursing Education (CNE) programme and by the Optometrists and Opticians Board (OOB) as a Continuing Professional Education (CPE) programme. To receive CME, CNE or CPE points for the Congress, please proceed to the registration counter to sign in for each symposium that you attend.

Congress Venue: MAX Atria @ Singapore Expo

How to get to Singapore Expo
Singapore EXPO is located in the eastern part of Singapore, and only one Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) stop or a 5-minute drive from Changi International Airport, and a 15-minute drive from the Central Business District (CBD). Right next to it is the Changi Business Park, a business hub that houses high technology firms, knowledge-intensive facilities, and multi-national companies. In addition, hotels and a wide selection of food and beverages and retail outlets are also within easy reach.

By Train
Singapore EXPO has a dedicated MRT station next to Hall 6, which is also an interchange station, part of the Changi Airport branch line of the East-West Line and the Downtown Line in the Tampines planning area. Trains arrive every 5 minutes from Changi International Airport and Tanah Merah MRT station. A direct, more convenient way to arrive at Singapore EXPO is through the Downtown Line. It now takes only 30 minutes from CBD areas such as Clarke Quay, Marina Bay and River Valley.

By Taxi
There are numerous taxis available in Singapore that offer reliable services. The taxi fare from the airport to Singapore EXPO is about $15 and to the city about $20, subject to surcharges. 

By Car
Situated at the crossroads of 3 main expressways – East Coast Parkway, Pan Island Expressway and Tampines Expressway, Singapore EXPO is a 15-minute drive from the CBD and a 5-minute ride to Changi International Airport.

By Bus
There are several bus services available to reach Singapore EXPO. Services numbers 12, 24 and 38 stop at EXPO Halls 1/2/3 (Bus stop no. 96029) and EXPO Halls 4/5/6 (Bus stop no. 96039), while service numbers 35,47 and 118 stop behind Singapore EXPO (Bus stop no. 96229). The following are the bus stop numbers around Singapore EXPO:
96229 – Singapore Expo
96029 – Expo Halls 1/2/3
96039 – Expo Halls 4/5/6

Organising Committee

Chairperson: A/Prof Wong Hon Tym
Chief Secretariat: Ms Gan Seok Choon, Pauline

Chairperson Adj A/Prof Augustinus Laude Officer in-charge Ms Gan Seok Choon, Pauline
Co-Chairperson Dr Chang Chong Ming, Benjamin Co-in-charge Ms Liew Siet Mee, Annie
Members A/Prof Yong Khet Yau, Vernon    
Adj Asst Prof Rupesh Agrawal FUND RAISING
Dr Chin Chee Fang Officer in-charge Mrs Wasumathe Sukumar
Dr Fam Han Bor Co-in-charge Ms Izyani Ayik
Dr Foo Fong Yee    
Dr Lekha Gopal SOCIAL
Dr Heng Li Wei Officer in-charge Mr Tay Hsiung Jren, Ryan
A/Prof Heng Wee Jin Co-in-charge Ms Aw Ling Li
Dr Rajesh Rajagopalan Members Ms Lam Lai Ying, Lilian
Dr Yip Wei Leon, Leonard   Ms Lim Hui Shan
Dr Chen Jianping   Ms Teo Theng Theng, Audrey
Dr Muhammad Amir Bin Ismail    
Dr Mi Fang, Helen Officer in-charge Ms Phua Huishan, Michelle
Ms Wu, Kimberly Co-in-charge Ms Teo Lemin, Pamela
Ms Izyani Ayik Member Ms Ng Yu Ying
Ms Lalitha Karunakaran    
  Ms Liew Siet Mee, Annie PUBLICITY
  Ms Lim Peck Hoon, Angela Officer in-charge Ms Koh Meixiang, Winnie
  Ms Bawani Suppiah Co-in-charge Ms Tang Mei Fung, Christina
    Members Ms Ding Chui Lee, Samantha
      Ms Noor Rizianah Ibrahim
      Ms Lalitha Karunakaran
Officer in-charge Ms Ang Bee Peng, Angela    
Co-in-charge Ms Norliana Abdul Rahim    
  Ms Siti Nurafra Jumahat    
Members Mr Cheong Liang Ruey    
  Ms Chen Jingyi, Josephine    
  Ms Chua Ming Shan    
  Ms Kan Sze Mun, Jazel    
  Ms Suba Kumaran    
  Ms Lam Sze Yee, Laurel    
  Ms Ong Wan Qiu    
  Ms Tee Poh Huei, Bowie    

Whilst every attempt will be made to ensure that all aspects of the Congress mentioned in this announcement will take place as scheduled, the Organising Committee reserves the right to make last-minute changes should the need arise.